FULL COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Full Council held on Thursday, 29 April 2021 at 6.00 pm in Remote Meeting

Present: Councillors S Bentley, K T Blundell, A J Burford, S P Burrell, E M Callear, L D Carter, E J Carter, C Cassar, G H Cook, S Davies, N A Dugmore, A J Eade, A R H England, N A M England, R C Evans, V A Fletcher, I T W Fletcher, E J Greenaway, C Healy, V J Holt, M B Hosken, T L B Janke, A S Jhawar, J Jones, R T Kiernan, J E Lavery, A Lawrence, J Loveridge, A D McClements, R Mehta, K Middleton, L A Murray, T J Nelson, R A Overton, S J Reynolds, G C W Reynolds, S A W Reynolds, H Rhodes, K S Sahota, P J Scott, J M Seymour, C F Smith, M J Smith, B J Thompson, W L Tomlinson, K T Tomlinson, C R Turley, P Watling and D Wright

Apologies: Councillors G L Offland

133 Prayers and Reflections

Mr Sharma said prayers.

134 <u>Election of Mayor</u>

It was moved by Councillor R Mehta, seconded by Councillor E M Callear, that Councillor A S Jhawar be elected as Mayor of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor A S Jhawar be elected as Mayor of the Council for the municipal year 2021/22.

Councillor Jhawar's election was followed by a video reflecting on his work as Mayor in 2020/21.

A video performance by students at the Telford Priory School was screened for Members.

135 <u>Election of Speaker</u>

It was moved by Councillor N A M England, seconded by Councillor C R Turley, that Councillor V J Holt be elected as Speaker of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor V J Holt be elected as Speaker of the Council for the municipal year 2021/22.

The Speaker thanked Councillor A R H England for his service as Speaker.

136 <u>Election of Deputy Speaker</u>

It was moved by Councillor S J Reynolds, seconded by Councillor A D McClements, that Councillor H Rhodes be elected as Deputy Speaker of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor H Rhodes be elected as Deputy Speaker of the Council for the municipal year 2021/22.

137 <u>Election of Deputy Mayor</u>

It was moved by Councillor R A Overton, seconded by Councillor K S Sahota, that Councillor R Mehta be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor R Mehta be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Council for the municipal year 2021/22.

138 Declarations of Interest

None.

139 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the minutes of the meeting held on 4 March 2021 be confirmed and signed by the Mayor.

140 Appointment of Cabinet

Councillor S Davies notified the meeting of Cabinet appointments.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that the Membership of the Cabinet, as notified by Councillor S Davies, be appointed for the municipal year 2021/22 as set out in the Leader's report.

141 <u>Delegation Scheme</u>

Councillor R C Evans, Cabinet Member for Council Finance and Governance, proposed that Council reassert the delegation scheme as detailed in the Council Constitution.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that the discharge of Council functions by Committees as set out in the Council's Constitution dated 5 March 2020 be approved under the provisions of Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972.

142 Appointment of Committees and Boards for 2021/22

Councillor S Davies formally moved the list. Cllr R Overton seconded.

Councillor B Tomlinson expressed his displeasure with the allocation of places on the Fire Authority.

Five Members dissented. There were no abstentions.

RESOLVED – that the committees and bodies for the municipal year 2021/22 (including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs) be appointed as set out in the report.

143 Programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council

The programme of dates for ordinary meetings of the Council for the year 2021/22 would be as set out in the report.

The meeting ended at Time Not Specified

Chairman:

Date: Thursday, 22 July 2021